Earthquakes disaster in India, mitigation and their impacts

Published 25-04-2023
Section Review articles


  • Sahdev S.O.S. In Environmental Science Pt. RSU Raipur


An earthquake is a natural disaster. This is due to the movement of tectonic plates. In India, the states like Assam, Uttarakhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Delhi, Sikkim, Odisha, etc. have suffered a maximum loss of life and property. In 2021, 2 people have died in Assam and 12 people have been injured. In 2015, there was an earthquake in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, and parts of India, in which the native people of India also lost their lives. There are mainly 4 types of earthquakes: tectonic, volcanic, collapse, and explosive earthquakes. Earthquakes are divided into 5 zones, zones I, II, III, IV, and V, with the most dangerous being zone V. In which the regions of Assam, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Jammu, Kashmir, and Gujarat come. Earthquakes cause damage to humans, animals, forests, and agricultural land. This review discusses the history of earthquakes, damages, mitigation, management, etc.

Most read articles by the same author(s)

1 2 > >>